Wonderful Pianist...She Has It All. Technique, Musicality, Power, Phrasing......Absolutely Marvellous'

Alan Bash, Juilliard M.M. Piano

New album:

Rachmaninoff Piano Masterpieces

1. Prélude in G - Flat Major, Op. 23: No. 10

2. Prélude In G - Sharp Minor, Op. 32: No. 12

3. Prélude In D Major, Op. 23: No. 4 4:11

4. Etude-Tableau in A Minor, Op. 39: No. 6

5. Etude-Tableau in A Minor, Op. 39: No. 2

6. Etude-Tableau in E - Flat Minor, Op. 39: No. 5

7. Moment Musicaux in E Minor, Op. 16: No. 4

8. Moment Musicaux in B - Flat Minor, Op. 16: No. 1

9. Piano Sonata No. 2 In B Flat Minor, Op. 36

  • 1. Allegro Agitato 9:27
  • 2. Non Allegro - Lento 7:02
  • 3. Allegro Molto 6:44

One of Sergei Rachmaninoff’s most famous and iconic compositions is the dramatic and enormously challenging original 1913 version of his Piano Sonata No.2.

Christina Grigoryants’s performance proves her to be one of the work’s premier advocates. The Sonata is accompanied on the album by an equally outstanding recital of selections from Moments Musical, Etudes Tableaux and Preludes.

‘Rachmaninov Masterpieces’ was recorded in Atlantis Studios and RMV Studios, Stockholm.

It is available on all streaming services from 16 December, 2022.

Video production: studio-gustav.com

Listen on your favourite streaming service

New album (released 17 Feb 2023)

Friendly Fingers

An album with extraordinary, improvised interpretations of both old jazz classics and
a selection of lesser known gems.

The album title alludes to the art of making each individual piano sound optimal through the right touch, hence ‘Friendly fingers’.

The two recording sessions took place in April and May 2022 at RMV Studios Skeppsholmen, Stockholm.

1. Spain – Chick Corea/Joaquín Rodrigo

2. Siciliana – J.S Bach

3. The Telemann Experiment – Jon Lord

4. What are you doing the rest of your life – Michel Legrand

5. The Man I Love – George Gershwin

6. Lullaby of Birdland – George Shearing

7. Sitting in A Dream – Roger Glover

8. Blue Shadows In The Street – Dave Brubeck

9. Folkloric – Grigoryants/Lorichs

10. How Insensitive – Antônio Carlos Jobim

11. Moon River – Henry Mancini

12. Cheek To Cheek – Irving Berlin

13. The Girl From Ipanema – Antônio Carlos Jobim

14. I Will Wait for You – Michel Legrand


An Evening with Sergei Rachmaninoff and Christina Grigoryants’ is dedicated to one of the last great musical Romantics.

The programme features some of Rachmaninoff’s most interesting and dynamic compositions including selections from his Preludes, Moments Musical and Etudes Tableaux, and concludes with an outstanding performance of the composer’s rarely played and most demanding works, the original 1913 version of his Piano Sonata No.2.

Preludierna: Opus 23 - No 10 in Gb major • Opus 32 - No 12 in G# minor • Opus 32 - No 2 in Bb minor • Opus 23 - No.5 in G minor • Opus 23 - No 4 in D major. Études Tableaux, Opus 39: No 6 in A minor • No 1 in C minor • No 2 in A minor • No 5 in Eb minor. Moments Musicaux Opus 16: No 4 in E minor Paus • No 1 in Bb minor • Piano Sonata No.2 - the 1913 original edition

In the Spirit of the Masters’ is an exciting and eclectic programme of specially selected musical works from a wide-ranging body of composers, including Bach, Brubeck, Gershwin, Lord and Rodrigo.

The recital features unique, exhilarating and absorbing extended improvisations based on the originals.

Christina Grigoryants introduces each piece and discusses their background and her relationship to the music.

Dave Brubeck - Home At Last - Southern Scene • Antônio Carlos Jobim - The Girl from Ipanema • J.S Bach - Siciliana (flöjtsonat i Gm) • Jon Lord - Telemann Experiment • Dave Brubeck - Blue Shadows in the Streets - Blue Rondo à la Turk George Gershwin - The Man I love - Three preludes - Rhapsody In Blue (för solo framträdande i Bbmaj) •  Joaquín Rodrigo - Concierto de Aranjuez.

+46-739-14 40 02


Christina Grigoryants's repertoire covers various eras and a wide range of musical styles. Her recitals have featured works by Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Liszt, Chopin, Schumann, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, Ravel, Gershwin, Brubeck, Piazzolla, Corea, Lord and many more.

Christina was raised in an Armenian family of musicians. Both her parents were music teachers and her father was also a well known composer and bandleader.

From an early age, she participated in and won various domestic and international piano competitions, acquiring plaudits for her prodigious technique and profound interpretative artistry.

In 1994, Christina was admitted to the prestigious Gnessin Academy of Music and studied under such distinguished teachers as Boris Berlin, Tatiana Pospelova, Larissa Starodubvrovskaya and Alexey Skavrosnky.

Since childhood, Christina has also developed a passion for jazz and has been involved in experimental projects involving modern and contemporary music, both as a soloist and in ensembles.

The combination of her prestigious academic learning and disciplined Classical schooling along with her love for improvisation and the freedom and spontaneity of jazz, folk and blues makes her one of the most distinctive and exciting pianists around today.

From 1999 to 2019, Christina worked as a music teacher but is now focused solely on her career as a performing musician with a permanent residence in Sweden.

Contact and bookings
Mail: christina.grigoryants@gmail.com

YouTube och Facebook: Pianist Christina Grigoryants

Homepage: https://grigoryants.se

Images are free to use